Health and Wellbeing ideas……

At the moment I have a couple of ideas for the Health and Wellbeing Project. Though both are manifested in different ways the principle behind both of them is the same.

In an initial meeting we introduced ourselves to the group. I began to try to explain my love of Clay and all things Ceramic. During the presentation I made the statement, that the experience of the material ‘made me happy…’. This statement was followed by the question what exactly is this happiness? What does the experience actually mean to me?

Trying to formulate an answer I began to analyse and really consider, probably for the first time, what it is about the material and the processes that connect me with it in such a strong way, not only physically but also emotionally.

When on the wheel throwing, I am completely lost in the moment, in the connection between my hands and material. To have the ability to express yourself through working with your hands, embracing the material whilst exploring your imagination and searching for possibilities is, freedom.

IMG_2874It is this moment of engagement and connection that I would like to bring to the therapeutic situation. When one is being asked to perhaps confront their emotions, rather than face what seems to be the largest box of tissues ever……. a way of being distracted and to focus on something other than the emotion or an aid to help describe a feeling.

One option is a group of morphed forms that can be held and have a soft quality. They can also work as a group of shapes making larger forms or could be used as props in a story telling situation.

IMG_2928IMG_2912 IMG_2917

The second are round forms that have a tactile quality. They have sound so the form reveals itself in an intimate way, building on the connection between the interaction with the form and person.

IMG_2892IMG_2894     IMG_2898

At present test pieces of both ideas are heading towards a Bisque Firing so we wait to see how they survive.

IMG_2948

Leave a comment